5 Best and 5 Worst things about Research

Inspired by a PGR friend who is creating a wonderful website of people’s best and worst things about research (https://theresearchstory.wordpress.com/) I thought I’d list my top 5 in each category. Feel free to comment with yours below – and feel free to contact my friend and contribute to her project :).

When my picture is uploaded to The Research Story, my best thing about research will be “Those “Eureka!” moments” and my worst thing will be “people saying “you’re so clever, this will be easy” – my pet peeve, as you will know if you read my post ‘Life Jackets’.

So, here are my top 5 in each category, I’d be hard pressed to order these – all the goods are good and all the bads are baad, so in no particular order:

My five best things about being a researcher

  • Those “Eureka!” moments
  • Being part of the PGR community
  • The amazing self-indulgence of getting to study something you love AND being allowed (even encouraged!) to talk constantly about it
  • Slowly feeling your expertise growing
  • Really feeling you’ve earned it

My five worst things about being a researcher

  • People saying “you’re so clever, it will be easy” when actually you feel like you’re drowning
  • Balancing work, family and studying
  • Feeling like you should know everything in your field and being immensely embarrassed when you don’t
  • Constant fear and uncertainty
  • Worrying that your contribution to knowledge is totally lame and not actually useful or insightful

So those are my 10, what are yours?

Leave a Reply

